Select Page


.e4: Engage, Empower, Enhance, Enable

√ Engage – Helping you become more efficient, effective and competitive

√ Empower – Optimizing mobilization of your skills and resources

√ Enhance – Strengthening your skills and competencies

√ Enable – Maximizing your potential

The .e4SM framework is the culmination of several years work.  A key factor underpinning this work is the recognition that individuals require specific knowledge of the case management process, but also require critical thinking skills, and a variety of leadership, management and communications skills to apply their expertise effectively.

With the launch of CMSA’s Comptency MapSM and Program Intensity GridSM in 2014, the Case Management Society of America will work with members, employers, training organizations, educational institutions and other professional bodies to introduce these tools to the profession and build awareness of the benefits available to individuals and organizations.

Launching at CMSA’s Annual Conference in Cleveland June 17-20, 2014, CMSA’s Competency Map and Program Intensity Grid represent the first components of the CMSA’s larger strategy to assist individuals to identify and develop the knowledge and skills needed to be an effective case management practitioner and deliver sustainable business performance. Of equal importance, these cross-sector frameworks sets out competencies, employers should expect from professionals in case/care management.

During this initial phase of the project, CMSA is looking for feedback from members and employers on how they are using CMSA’s Competency Map and Program Intensity Grid. According to CMSA’s Executive Director, Cheri Lattimer, RN, BSN, “One of the biggest problems we face in case/care management is the various ways in which terms, titles, and skill sets are used to describe functions that are not interchangeable. Having a consistent framework as described in these tools supports uniform decision making for practitioners as well as for employers, payers and providers.”

The components of the .e4 initiative will inform everything CMSA puts forth to support its vision for the profession and places case management professionals squarely at the center.

In particular, the Competency Map and Program Intensity Grid are designed to support:

  • Individual professional development;
  • Employers recruiting case/care management professionals or in preparing job descriptions;
  • Agencies advising on the recruitment of case/care management professionals;
  • HR or department directors developing case/care management programs; and
  • Organizations who provide, or are seeking to provide case/care management education programs.

Flexible Competency Progression

The Competency Map and Program Intensity Grid enable practitioners to envision a clear path to the knowledge and skills they require throughout their careers and a mechanism to plan that journey. According to CMSA’s Executive Director, Cheri Lattimer, “Before introduction of the CMSA’s Competency Map and Program Intensity Grid, there was no firm structure that set out a visible career path for our members. Although these products are currently in Beta and we expect to make changes, the ultimate goal is to provide tools that individuals can use to assess their competency levels and plan for professional development in alignment with their career goals.”

Aside from the obvious value to individuals and businesses, CMSA is also working with training providers and educational institutions. With implementation of the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act (PPACA), the demand for qualified case managers is expected to grow exponentially in the coming years. With no standardized curriculum or career path into case management and a rapidly aging case management workforce, the need to ensure a sustainable case management workforce is more urgent than ever.

What are Competencies?
Competencies are the skills, knowledge, abilities and personal attributes that are essential to perform certain functions and which are critical to succeed in specific roles. A competency framework defines the knowledge, skills and attributes needed by the people working in an organization or particular profession.

CMSA’s Competency Map consists of 6 levels beginning with Case Management Assistant; Entry Level; Mid-Level; Senior; Advanced and Executive. Each level has 13 competencies, divided amongst 5 domains:

  • Case Management Concepts – consisting of The Case Management Process, Competency Validation, Analytical and Critical Thinking.
  • Knowledge and Understanding – consisting of Legal/Ethics, Regulatory, professional Education, and Business Management .
  • Communication – consisting of Effective Engagement and Empowerment and relationship management.
  • Outcomes Improvement – consisting of Research and Quality and Implementing Value-add solutions.
  • Leadership – consisting of Change management and Workforce Development.

The Map allows CMSA members and other professionals to drill down to see what competencies are required for each level, under each category. Someone entering the profession, for example, will know what employers will expect if they want to move into a specific role. The framework provides clarity about the full range of skills a case/care management professional needs to be effective. It communicates to employers and recruiters the real value that case management professionals can add to an organization.

The motivation to create the map resulted from a broad-based study conducted beginning in 2012. According to Danielle Marshall, Chief Strategy Officer and project lead, “Results from member-based focus groups, as well as a variety of qualitative and quantitative studies, pointed out the need for clarity, particularly as it relates to entering the profession and career path planning. It was shocking to see highly qualified practitioners conducting entry level functions; HR departments without resources to adequately screen applicants and the complete absence of career planning tools for case managers.   We may be 14 years into the 21st century, but our members were clear: their employers largely do not understand the value they bring. It was a “eureka” moment for CMSA. Since the role of a professional society is to advocate for the profession and defend access to practice, developing the CMSA’s Competency Map and Program Intensity Grid seemed to be the obvious first steps.”

©Copyright 2014.  Case Management Society of America (CMSA), Little Rock, AR and Washington, DC, USA . All rights reserved under both international and Pan American copyright conventions. No  use of the publication permitted without the express written consent of the copyright holder.  This content is confidential and proprietary property of CMSA. No part of this resource may be used without CMSA’s prior written consent.  Further, the content and information contained in the CMSA’s Competency MapTM and Program Intensity GridTM  is provided for educational and informational purposes and is not a substitute for the knowledge and independent judgment of case management professionals.  In no event shall CMSA be held liable for any damages resulting from use of this information even if CMSA has been informed of the possibility of such liability.  CMSA’s .e4 is a trademark of Case Management Society of America.


Would you like to give feedback about the information and resources on this site?  Email e4@cmsa.org.

Case Management Society of America
6301 Ranch Drive
Little Rock, AR 72223